Pearson BTEC – Global Qualifications

(After Grade 10 & Grade 12)
Level 3 BTEC
What is a BTEC

The Business and Technology Education Council (BTEC) is a provider (existing as part of Pearson Education Ltd) of secondary school leaving qualifications and further education qualifications in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. Whilst the T in BTEC previously stood for Technical, according to the DFE (2016) it now stands for Technology. BTECs originated in 1984 and were awarded by Edexcel from 1996. Their origins lie in the Business Education Council, formed in 1974 to “rationalise and improve the relevance of sub-degree vocational education”.

BTEC qualifications, especially Level 3, are accepted by many universities (excluding Cambridge, Oxford and UCL unless combined with other qualifications) when assessing the suitability of applicants for admission, and many such universities base their conditional admissions offers on a student’s predicted BTEC grades. Currently, Imperial College London is the only university in Britain not to accept BTECs at all.

Pearson’s BTEC qualifications are recognised in more than 70 countries worldwide. Our main goal is to help support economic growth and develop infrastructure through the provision of high-quality, career-focused qualifications.

Qualification Subjects
Why Should I Choose BTEC Degree
Eligibility Criteria
Examination Techniques
Benefits of Studying BTEC Programs